BLOG7: Le Donne d’Italia

On Tuesday, March 18, I was able to attend the Le Donne d’Italia member meeting. After meeting with Jennifer Consalvi, president of the Italian all-women’s club, I was invited to go to the meeting and interview some of the staff as well as some of the members.

I was quite excited for the meeting, which was located in the Italian Athletic Club. Every time I would make my way around North Beach, I always wanted to find a way inside the exclusive club. The doors were always locked and one had to be a member of the club in order to get in. However, I finally was able to make my way in with one press of a button.

After entering the building, I was greeted by two women who were having a meeting for their book club. I could not catch the book that they were discussing, but it seemed as if they were very intrigued by the plot.

A couple minutes passed as more members of the club started to trickle in with drinks in hand from the bar downstairs. At around 7:00 p.m., the meeting began. Many events and issues were discussed, such as the Bubbly and Bingo event that just passed. They raised a lot of money from this event and are already thinking about next year’s bingo event that they will host. New members were recognized and given beads as a welcoming into the club. Many of the women in the room seemed so passionate about their culture and where they came from.

I am glad that I was able to attend this meeting as well as meet new people. A sense of family and togetherness was felt in the room as each member treated one another as not a friend, but as a relative. Attending this meeting made me realize how passionate people are about the Italian heritage and how they want to keep the culture alive.

View from the 3rd floor of the Italian Athletic Club.

View from the 3rd floor of the Italian Athletic Club.

One response to “BLOG7: Le Donne d’Italia

Leave a Reply

